CALL: 082 745 1013

send an email:

The Palace Museum

A large white building with castellated battlements situated on Mizingani Road, Originally called the Sultan’s Palace, it was built in the late 1890s for members of the sultan’s family. From 1911, it was used as the Sultan of Zanzibar’s
official residence, but was renamed the People’s Palace after the 1964 Revolution, when Sultan Jamshid was overthrown. It continued to be used as government offices until 1994 when the palace was turned into a museum dedicated to the history of the sultans of Zanzibar